When Moments Mean More Than The Continuum Of Life

Over the past few months, all I have been savouring are moments. No earth shattering events, no prominent blips, no fantastic activities that would make for great stories… just some moments that I will always remember, and that mean more to me than any stories that would be a fitting (and expected) answer to the “so what’s up with your life?” question.

What are they?

  • Every morning, my mom and I sit together when she wakes up; she holds my hand tight & talks to me with a big smile on her face. I love it. It’s a bond that needs no words.
  • In the past few months I have met many friends who no longer live in this city/ country and even our regular conversations have taken me back in time and made me feel many years younger. Ok, maybe I am just getting old.
  • I recently attended the wedding of one my closest friends and I was just in a serene, happy state throughout – and my life was on pause for those 3 days.
  • I occasionally listen to a few songs (that I love) on loop  & that has made my morning drive something I treasure – even with killer traffic. No, I don’t do that if someone is with me.
  • The flowers blooming in all my plants, with their myriad colours, make me pause to admire them & yes, I speak to my plants!
  • Some conversations have given me unexpected clarity – about myself, about life. No, I haven’t discovered the meaning of life.
  • I have made some great new friendships that I would have thought were unlikely. And it’s always a good feeling to have more friends!
  • I am trying to develop a new hobby – but more on that only if it works out!

Doesn’t sound like much, does it? But it is! I couldn’t have been happier than I am, with all these little moments, making for a great life. This fragment from As I Walked Out One Evening always plays in my head.  “And Time will have his fancy,  To-morrow or to-day.” W H Auden

 

    • Hari Chakyar
    • February 27th, 2011

    Yay @ you talking to plants. I like. Guess they like it too!

    And good luck with the new hobby.

    • ALI
    • September 17th, 2011

    hey Miss Namarata i have read your Blog.. very interesting and cool… all the best… and keep posting many things… god bless you dear.. take care…. 🙂

      • Namrata B
      • September 17th, 2011

      Hi Ali, thanks so much for visiting my blog and appreciating the posts!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

